My Girl DEE!

Hello my lovelies.  I hope your weekend was fabulous!  I had a great weekend, thanks in part, to

MY GIRL DEE!

Let me take you back to last Thursday.  I was having a great day until someone decided to

RAIN ON MY PARADE.

Ug.  Seriously, the nerve of some people.  I was going along happily in my “mommy” and “fitness angel” world.  Then –

BOOM!  Thunder, lightening, the works.  I went to bed that night feeling disappointed, sad, hurt, and not too motivated to follow-through with my plan to go yoga the next day.  I mean really, why do yoga when you can SULK?

Ok, did I really just say that??  Wow.

Thank GOD for DEE!!

Friday morning shows up as it always does.  I woke up with puffy eyes and a still-broken heart.  On top of that, Ella was not in a bouncy mood and ended up spilling a FULL GLASS of juice on the couch leaving EVERYTHING sticky.  Yes, loads of fun…

BUT, we made it through.  I dropped her off at school ON TIME (miracle) and headed home.  I had planned to text Dee saying I wasn’t going to make it.

But…I didn’t.

I stopped and asked myself what would be in

MY BEST INTEREST?

Yoga is good for the mind AND body…and, Dee, well, she’s kind of a big deal.  Why would I deny myself an hour with a total pro?  Who holds the power over your feelings?

YOU DO!

I wasn’t in the mood for a sugary-sweet-let’s-all-hold-hands-and-sing-kumbaya yoga class.  I didn’t want to learn a new language, solve the world’s problems, or see how many ways I could contort my body (even though I AM very flexible).

I wanted to feel GOOD from the inside out, work hard, smile only if I really felt like it, and, most importantly, lift my mood by working my body.

I wanted something REAL.

I can assure you that it doesn’t get any more real than fabulous DEE!  She is one of the gems I’ve been lucky to find in the group fitness industry.  And, THE FIRM, the place you go to catch her rockin’ classes, is kind of like being transported to another planet – in a super COOL way.  There is a sign outside the yoga studio door that actually instructs people to keep their clothes on.  I know, it’s an awesome crowd.

With all this in mind, I decided to stay strong and get in my car and drive a quick 17 minutes to THE FIRM.  I easily found a parking spot and went inside.  I was greeted by Diva Doug (which always makes me happy – he’s adorable!) and made my way up to the white bright yoga studio.

I see Dee and I smile.  I’m already feeling better and I haven’t even moved one itty bitty muscle.  Its true, she has that effect on people.

I find a spot, roll out my mat and grab some weights – I get ready to WORK!

Class is intense.  As my friend Cara pointed out, it’s NO JOKE.  Only the strong survive (well, kind of…you just have to TRY…hard!)  Dee is fully aware of the intensity of her classes and she doesn’t apologize for it.  She knows she is making you STRONGER!  That’s why we go….right?!

I know, I know, there are a million group fitness classes out there that are really fun, and you might FEEL really good because you could do it in your sleep, but does your body actually CHANGE?

The answer is, no.

If you look around at the people in those classes, you don’t see bodies change.

That is because they do THE SAME THING every week.  It’s predictable.  Yes, a little predictability is a good thing.  It might be what YOU want or need.

But for me, right now, I am not interested in being predictable and comfortable.  I don’t want to know what’s coming next.  I want to get a little uncomfortable.  I want to know what I can do, as a 34 ½ year old wife, mother, teacher, friend, sister, daughter, WOMAN.  How strong am I?

This is why I smile when I see Dee.  I know that for the next 60 minutes I have a super smart fitness professional guiding me and encouraging me to do more today than I did yesterday.  I’m not in control, and I’m more than ok with that.  I trust that if I COMMIT to giving 110%, I will feel stronger.

And I do.

I wasn’t able to do every position flawlessly.  I lost my balance, took a break when I needed it, and got tired.  But I was there, giving it my all, doing my best.

The flow of the class kept me going; Dee’s strength inspired me.

In one hour all of the chaos from the night before was lifted.  The stress of the morning disappeared.  I reconnected with myself by working hard, and then a little harder.

It’s kind of amazing how your mind can follow your body if you let it.

As you begin your week, I encourage you to stay strong and [GO] for whatever it is.  Just go.  Getting there is half the battle.  Let the Dee in your life take care of the rest.

Peace and love xoxo

2 responses to “My Girl DEE!

Leave a Reply

